Tokyo-Narita and LAX-TBIT teams win Star Alliance CEO Awards

LOS ANGELES, Dec 7 - Two Star Alliance project teams at airports were selected to receive this year's Star Alliance CEO Awards at this year's CEB meeting Los Angeles. In both cases, the teams had worked together to transform the check-in experience for customers, involving co-location of the Star Alliance carriers online in that location and the introduction of new self-service processes for economy passengers.

The CEO Award recognises outstanding and unique contributions by individuals or teams of individuals who have demonstrated active leadership and excellence in initiatives to support the mission of Star Alliance – namely securing the long-term profitability of member carriers by driving projects and initiatives that are focused on high value international travellers.

An award this year was presented to the LAX team which transformed check-in in the Tom Bradley International Terminal. Sheila O'Neil of Air New Zealand collected the award on behalf of the team.

The other winner was the Tokyo-Narita team, which implemented significant change to check-in processes which reduced queueing and increased customer satisfaction. Yoko Ohno of United and Eri Yamaura of ANA accepted the award in person on behalf of the wider team.

Tokyo-Narita Team

Naoki Hashimoto .- AC

Grace Chen - BR

Hao Wei - CA

Takada Yoshiko - ET


Skurtys Piotr - LO

Takeshi Shibata - LX

Katsuhiro Suzuki - NH

Eri Yamaura - NH


Kato Kenji - NH

Jack Suzuki - NZ


Nobuhisa Shigematsu - SK

Mark Lee - SQ

Suthaspun Chaiyakam - TG

Niwatchai Palakawong Na Ayuthaya - TG

Serkan Gunduz - TK

Yoko Ohno - UA


Rickie Yeh - BR

Barry Mann - CA

Sashahulish Laeke - ET

Carlos Doerner - LH

Robert Bedrick - LX

Schenley Quijano - NH

Sheila O'Neil - NZ

Ralph Myers - OZ

Christer Persson - SK

Henry Sugiarto - SQ

Fatih Buran - TK

-- Janet Northcote